And At Last I See The Light

Disney Princesses by daekazu

I’m a big fan of Disney, and more specifically, Disney Princess movies. It’s comes as no surprise then, that I’m looking at Disney fanart instead of working. If anyone asked me who was my favourite Disney Princess however, I wouldn’t be able to answer, because I love so many of them. Of course, there are some that I prefer over others.

Just the other day, I was flipping through channels on the idiot box, and I happen to chance upon a rerun of Beauty and the Beast. Watching it now, as a grown up, I appreciate it so much better. And having to go through design school, I noticed things that I didn’t before – all the details of the castle, the bedroom that the rose was kept in. The animation of the fur… bearing in mind this made in 1991 – way before all the cool technology that animated cartoons use now existed. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think James is bias against Belle because she’s French. 😛

Belle by Kamirah

Another two of my favourite Princesses were Mulan and Megara, from Mulan and Hercules respectively. Mulan was well, because I’m bias too, and she’s Asian. Plus she can kick butt, something which I’ve always wanted to do. Note to self: learn a martial art. Meg because she has sass, even if she sold her soul to Hades.

A question I posed to a few of the more masculine in nature of our species was “Which Disney Princess do you think is the prettiest?” and for some strange reason, all of them answered with Ariel! Sorry guys, I don’t really see her appeal.

Flynn and Rapunzel by yy6242

The most recent Rapunzel: A Tangled Tale, was absolutely brilliant, and though Rapunzel’s hair shone throughout the movie, the real shiny light was Flynn. The movie skyrocketed to the top of my favourite Disney cartoon, sharing the number one spot with The Lion King. The scene with the lanterns was so good, and I promise you it is not overhyped. This movie made me laugh and cry and laugh some more. I need to watch it again. Now.

I remember I watched Pocahontas in the theaters when it came out. It was the very first movie I cried at, simply because it didn’t have a happily ever after. After I found out what happened in the sequel, however, I didn’t particularly care. The Frog and The Princess was a little bit of a letdown too, in my opinion.

Special mention goes to Nala, from The Lion King, simply because The Lion King is a fabulous movie. If I had to be an animal, I probably would want to be a lioness just because I think Nala is awesome.

Nala by yugiNalaKitty

My currently playlist includes I See The Light from Tangled, Beauty and the Beast and There’s Something There from Beauty and the Beast, Part of Your World by The Little Mermaid, I Won’t Say I’m in Love from Hercules and my absolute favourite song of all time, Can You Feel The Love Tonight from The Lion King.

What is your favourite Princess/Song/Scene/Movie from Disney?

