Forever Starts in 3 Days

It’s funny how a major event in your life can inspire you to make so many small changes that you would never think would be connected. So many things I’ve been meaning to do for a long time that have been relegated to the back-burner have suddenly become important. For example, ever since I moved into my current house I’ve been meaning to change the shower head – the old one is very basic, and rather crappy. A chance comment by my lovely girlfriend sent me to the hardware store to purchase a fancy new one, and five minutes of work had it installed.

The fact that a plumber would probably have charged fifty bucks for the same job shall go unmentioned.

Also little repairs on the car – I love my old Mercedes, but the more features a car has the more things can go wrong, and over the years a number of minor electrical faults have developed. One of these, annoyingly enough, is the electrical controls for the backrest of the driver’s seat. Again, something I’ve been meaning to fix for a long time, but with the seat stuck in a position that was only mildly uncomfortable for me, it wasn’t a priority. Now there will be two drivers of the car, so an hour tonight was spent disassembling the control switch, cleaning it out and rewiring, then reassembling. As usual the end result was not entirely what I wanted, and the seat is now perfectly adjusted for me – and impossible to adjust for anyone else. Oh well. I also finally got around to adjusting the headlights – and then promptly readjusted them when I went for a test drive and discovered I was lighting up people’s roofs.

I guess the point of all this rambling is that there are a lot of things to consider with a second person sharing my life. Things that don’t bother me at all are possibly not acceptable to her, so certain changes are going to have to be made. But that’s what it’s all about, really – give and take, and compromise. Putting in a bit of effort to make my car drivable for her (however futile that effort turned out to be), or changing a shower head is fairly insignificant compared to the effort of moving to a new country and having to adjust.

Forever starts in 3 days. And counting.

