One Foot In Front Of The Other

So I’ve been here for a little while now, and I’m starting to adjust. The first two weeks were pretty bad for me, which was probably why I didn’t blog about how it has been so far. There’s a lot of ‘not knowing’ involved. The culture here is much more independent than I’m used to. It isn’t commonplace to have a pump attendant refuel your car for you, just to throw out an example.

There was just so much new information to take in at once – and it gave me a bit of a headache and I just wanted to crawl into a hole and hide. I daren’t venture out by myself for a while as well, cause to me, all the houses here look the same, and after a couple of turns I might end up completely lost and on the other side of the suburb, but I’ve gotten over that, I think.

I still would like to explore the country more, and head south of the river to see why everyone is staying there. Because I’m north currently, there aren’t as many Asians around, and James is as un-Asian as you can get. Finding a little bit of home might help me settle in a little better.

The first week consisted of mostly of shopping. We went to Ikea to get some furniture for me. Drawers for storing my clothes, a desk to put my computer, a bookcase so James can keep all his things and they won’t be tossed around in boxes… It was the most at home I had felt in my first week there, since Ikea runs are common and fun time for me. I love looking at all the little showrooms.

His computer chair, my computer chair.
His bookshelf, my drawers, and desk.

He also brought me to Bunnings and we bought a little shower caddy and hangers. Miscellaneous things like that. After all the shopping was done, he had to head back to work. So I was left in a house that I’m completely unfamiliar with. Like I’ve repeated many times, it was a bit tough for the first two weeks, but now it’s gotten to the point where I’m dragging him out of bed, stuffing a toothbrush in his mouth and putting his work clothes on for him and pushing him out the door.

Perhaps I’m being too hard on myself, expecting myself to adapt immediately to life here. I should take things one day at a time for now, and enjoy that I don’t need to go job hunting just yet.

P.S. The weather is erratic, it’s hot one day and cold the next, but I LOVE it. I’m not missing the weather from Singapore a single bit.

P.P.S. The name of the pilot flying our plane to Perth was called Captain Hook. It wouldn’t have been fun if we have landed in Never Never Land instead. 🙂

6 thoughts on “One Foot In Front Of The Other

  1. Haha, you know why everyone stays south of the river? The more well-known private schools are there, the Chinese living area aka Winthrop/Leeming is there. Three universities (Murdoch, Curtin, UWA) in the vicinity…need I say more? 😉

    Haha, the pump attendant thing lol. I’ve gotten so used to it now that when I go back to SG, I automatically reach for the pump myself before I find that some uncle/auntie has sauntered up to help me LOL. Yea, everything here is very DIY, need to get used to it! Easter break next week YAYYYY!!! Want to go dimsum?

    1. Exactly! Why is everything in the south? It’s so annoying cause it means an hour and a half’s drive. What are you planning for Easter? Do you get a five day weekend? 😀

      1. We have our mid term break then so it’s a whole week break :). HAHAA. My bro’s coming down from Sydney to visit. Who ask you to stay so far north?!! 😛 Your petrol costs must be super high. Even I, who go to school four days a week, pump petrol every week but not quite at the empty, but it can’t last me till the next low cycle :(. What are your plans for Easter? I think you’re Christian right? So going church?

  2. You are the surviver-type, and you’ll do fine. Give yourself time and cushion well. then go out and enjoy the new surroundings!

  3. Good to know you’re settling in slowly but surely 🙂 Also, we have the same Ikea chair! And yah, just take your time to absorb your surroundings… relax and take it easy. That’s the beauty of being in such a place… people are hardly in a rush. Savor it!

Comments are closed.