Being Fully Present

I think the one thing I have learnt, and that life is screaming out to be over the past fortnight or so, is that every single moment of your life is precious. It’s special. Savour it. Enjoy it. Revel in it. Be fully present in every one of those moments.

It’s something I’ve been having trouble with a lot. I’m easily distracted. The slightest noise or movement catches my attention and suddenly I’m lost. Even just between typing the last sentence and this one, I’ve browsed a few websites, checked my social media updates, and walked around the room.

I’m a self proclaimed multi-tasker, however what I’ve learnt over the past week – it might not be such a good thing after all. I guess that is why my friends always tell me that I’m much better to talk to in person, rather than online, because when I’m having a conversation with someone in person, I’m giving them my full attention, and I’m being 100% present with them.

Savouring the moments I have with them.

I’ve been doing little sessions with myself where I tune out that voice in my head. You know, the little voice that goes on and on and on all the time? Mine always gives me a mental to-do list. Groceries I need to buy, when I can do laundry, vacuuming, reminders to pay bills and so on. It hasn’t been easy, and I do think that I am getting better at it. It’s helping me fall asleep a lot faster with a lot more peace of mind. I wake up feeling more refreshed.

I’ve be practicing with what I consume as well. Sipping tea slowly, feeling it in my mouth before I swallow. Slowly munching on the food, letting each bite fill my mouth with flavour before taking the next mouthful. Feeling the cold rush of water hit my tongue.

‘Walk as if you are kissing the Earth with your feet.’ ~Thich Nhat Hahn

Perhaps it is like a muscle that needs to be trained. And with consistent practice, I will be able to be fully present in each and every moment.

