I Came To Win – I Believe I Can Fly – Get Ready For It

This is going to be a sort of my thoughts of the latest Glee episode – Season 03, Episode 14, On My Way.

I like Glee, not to the extent where I would call myself a fan, but I do like the show. It’s a really brave show because it takes a lot of stereotypes in the world, especially in America, and shoves it in your face and go “Look at how ridiculous you’re being.” It shows us that behind everyone, whether it’s the popular kids or the outcasts, they’re all going through something, and we can appreciate where they are coming from.

The writing, I do find, isn’t as good as it was back in the first season, but it doesn’t take away from how brilliant the cast are when they’re singing. The songs that they sung during the regionals blew me away, and brought a tear to my eye. I love the theme – inspiration.

The mash up Fly/I Believe I Can Fly was amazing. Here’s to Us really touched me so much. The cast puts in so much emotion to the songs, and even though it’s part of a studio recording, it still comes through. Big kudos on them for such their stellar performances.

On the subject of suicide – I thought they handled it quite well. They showed what people do these days that might have lead up to someone wanting to take their own life. That not everyone is as strong as someone like Kurt, who was able to handle the constant bullying without the need to end his life. I do hope kids these days learn that what they may consider a simple prank, or a harmless comment may lead someone over the edge.

They also showed the different viewpoints of everyone around the person that tried to take his life. From Quinn’s anger at his selfishness, to Kurt’s empathy, and even touching Rachel and Finn enough to want to seize the day and have a quick wedding together. There will definitely be various ways this would impact someone, but I did felt that they touched on it enough.

As much as I don’t like Will’s character, he did a good job with showing the kids that there are so many new experiences in life and thinking of what they’re looking forward to to help them get out of whatever dark place they might come across one day.

Sure, it perhaps may not give gay kids much hope that they’ll be accepted by society – but it does paint a realistic picture of the worst case scenario that they can come across.

I guess at the end of the day, I really like the message of this episode – enough to get my butt off my writer’s block and actually write something about it.

“I came to win, to fight, to conquer, to thrive.
I came to win, to survive, to prosper, to rise.
To Fly. To Fly.”

